Visitors Counter

     The Gujarat Agricultural University (GAU) was established on February 1, 1972 under the Gujarat Agricultural University Act, Act No. 13 of 1969 of the Government of Gujarat. The section 29 of the Act and the Statute 31 of GAU Statutes indicated the Faculty of Agricultural Engineering and Technology as one of the faculties of the university. The Academic Council of the Gujarat Agricultural University appointed the Committee on Agricultural Engineering and Technology in August, 1973 under the Chairmanship of Dr. J. S. Patel (Chairman), Member, Board of Management, GAU with the committee members as Prof. A. C. Pandya, Director (Engg.), NDDB, Anand; Dr. B. Pathak, Dean, Faculty of Agricultural Engineering, PAU, Ludhiana; Shri N. C. Shah, Member, Board of Management, GAU; Dr. S. M. Patel, Director, Cooperative Management Institute, Ahmedabad; Shri. L. G. Thakkar, Research Engineer, GAU, Junagadh; Shri U. S. Shah (Convener), Professor of Dairy Engineering, Dairy Science College, Anand. The Committee submitted its report titled REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURAL ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY which has been published by the GAU in 1978. It recommended a plan of action consisting of 1) Staffing pattern 2)Teaching, research and advisory services 3) Training programmes, etc.
     It recommended that the Faculty of Agricultural Engineering should have following departments:
1.     Farm Engineering at Junagadh.
2.     Soil and Water Engineering at Navsari,
3.     Rural Engineering at Sardarkrushinagar
4.     Agricultural Process Engineering at Anand.
     Further, it suggested that after the proper development of the above departments, which would take about 5 years, a College of Agricultural Engineering and Technology should be established. The Gujarat Agricultural University developed the discipline of Agricultural Engineering on the lines recommended by the above Committee and established the four departments as suggested with the assistance of ICAR during 1978 onwards. The Board of Management of the Gujarat Agricultural University, at its 94th meeting held on 12th January, 1988 at Ahmedabad appointed a High Power Committee for development of the College of Agricultural Engineering and Technology (CAET) at Junagadh. The committee consisted of Prof. A. C. Pandya (Chairman), Former Head, Agril. Engg. Dept., IIT, Kharagpur and the members like Shri. Maganbhai P. Patel, Board Member, GAU ; Dr. K. N. Nag, President, ISAE ; Dr. T. P. Ojha, DDG (Engg.), ICAR ; Dr. A. Alam, ADG (Engg.), ICAR ; Shri. B. J. Jadeja / Shri. N. R. Patel, Campus Director, GAU, Junagadh; and Shri. R. J. Patel, Registrar, GAU. The terms of reference of the High Power Committee were to review the existing academic programme and to make recommendations for improvements on the aspects 1) Curriculum and syllabi along with details of the degree, duration etc. 2) Infrastructural facilities of the College building, laboratories, equipments and faculty, hostels etc. and 3) Agricultural Engineering Research and Extension for development of agriculture in the Gujarat State.
     In view of the report of the committee, the syllabi for B. Tech. (Agril. Engg.) programme were revised by the university and several other recommendations regarding building, (Total Built-up area for college 17671.56 sq.m) laboratories, manpower, instructional farm, etc. were implemented for strengthening the UG Programme of education.
     On 01, May 2004 the Gujarat Agricultural University is bifurcated into four Universities. The college of Agricultural Engineering and Technology became a Constituent College of Junagadh Agricultural University, Junagadh.
     The college has adopted the UG course curriculum according to the ICAR fourth Deans’ Committee Since 2008-09 Academic Year. The ICAR fifth Deans’ committed recommendations and course curriculum are implemented Since academic year 2017-18. Also the college started PG programme leading to M.Tech (Agril. Engg.) and PhD (Agril. Engg.) in all the disciplines, further the course curriculum is adopted as per recommendation of BSMA committee of ICAR. The college has accreditation by ICAR during 1997, 2016-2021 and 2021-2026, by Institution of Engineers, India in 2000 and by AICTE-NBA during 2008-2013.